‘Best of Rest’ Title Undecided for F1 Finale

photo by: Ferris Shaw

The F1 paddock heads to Abu Dhabi for drivers’ final opportunity of the year to move up the standings.

Fireworks, florescent buildings and a desert sunset will be the setting for F1’s final race. The Yas Marina circuit has held every Abu Dhabi grand prix since 2009, and is the only twilight race of the year.

The grand prix comes after the action-packed scenes of Brazil which saw tensions in Ferrari hit boiling point following the aftermath of Vettel and Leclerc crashing into one another.

In his first season at Ferrari, Leclerc has proved a competitive challenge for the four-time champion Vettel. Currently the Monegasque driver is 19 points ahead of Vettel, putting Ferrari in an uncomfortable position as to who will be next year’s number one driver.

Abu Dhabi will be the first race since the teammates crashed and both will be hoping for a clean race this weekend, Ferrari’s last chance to displace Verstappen from third place.

Meanwhile McLaren celebrated its first podium in six years at Brazil with Sainz finishing third, and Gasly answered his critics by giving Toro Rosso its second podium this year. This has shaken up the midfield standings and the fight for the ‘best of the rest’ trophy.

Both the McLaren and the Toro Rosso come into this weekend tied on points and all to play for. Despite Hamilton already winning the crown for 2019, it is not over for the midfield.


Saturday: Qualifying – 1 pm

Sunday: Race – 1.10 pm

 Words: Ferris Shaw

Stay tuned below:

Vettel spins and hits the barriers in FP1

Ricciardo’s engine fails in FP1

Bottas and Grojean crash into each other FP2


How did the final F1 race of this decade end?

Only three drivers have won this decade, one by Rosberg and every other by Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel. A decade of dominance comes to end as F1 prepares for the 2020 shake up.

Accessibility | Cookies | Terms of use and privacy