Chelsea’s loan army under threat from FIFA

Many of Chelsea’s loan players could have to leave the club as FIFA prepares to make drastic changes to the transfer system.

The Blues, who currently have 39 players out on loan, face having to sell most of their youngsters who are used by the club to make money from loan fees.

FIFA have proposed that the system could be changed in the 2020-21 season with the maximum amount players to be loaned out by a club restricted to six to eight players.

This could be detrimental to how Chelsea is run as a business. Over the past five years, according to The Times, the model has profited the South London club £139 million, with Romelu Lukaku, Kevin De Bruyne, and Nathan Ake all being sold after loans spell abroad and domestically.

The new system will also cover affiliated clubs. Vitesse Arnhem currently benefit from Chelsea sending players over to gain experience with Eduardo, Jake Clarke- Salter and Charly Musonda currently plying their trade for the Eredivisie side. The unwritten relationship has seen 26 players join Vitesse since 2010.

But in 2020 this could be cut to two players allowed to move between clubs, meaning Chelsea will have to reconsider their partnerships.

FIFA hope that this new regulation will stop young players being commercially exploited and will make loans more about development, with the task force report saying that the existing set up “sometimes prevents young players from fully developing their talents.”

Chelsea will find out in February if the proposal goes through. If so we could be seeing a mass exodus at Stamford Bridge.

List of Chelsea’s loan army:

Goalkeepers: Nathan Baxter (Yeovil Town), Eduardo (Vitesse Arnhem), Bradley Collins (Burton Albion).

Defenders:Baba Rahman (Schalke), Jake Clarke-Salter (Vitesse Arnhem), Michael Hector(Sheffield Wed), Tomas Kalas (Bristol City), Todd Kane (Hull City), Matt Miazga (Nantes), Kurt Zouma (Everton), Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes), Trevoh Chalobah (Ipswich), Dujon Sterling(Coventry), Reece James (Wigan Athletic), Jay DaSilva (Bristol City), Ola Aina (Torino), Fiyako Tomori (Derby), Fankaty Dabo (Sparta Rotterdam).

Midfielders: Lewis Baker (Leeds United), Victorien Angban (Metz), Kenedy (Newcastle), Nathan (Atletico Mineiro), Josimar Quintero (Lleida Esportiu), Danilo Pantic (Partizan Belgrade), Mario Pasalic (Atalanta), Ruben Sammut (Falkirk), Charlie Colkett (Shrewsbury Town), Jacob Maddox (Cheltenham), Kasey Palmer (Blackburn), Kyle Scott (Telstar), Mason Mount (Derby), Tiemoue Bakayoko (AC Milan), Charly Musonda (Vitesse Arnhem), Kylian Hazard (Cercle Bruges).

Forwards: Joao Rodriguez (Tenerife), Michy Batshuayi (Valencia), Ike Ugbo (Scunthorpe), Izzy Brown (Leeds), Tammy Abraham (Aston Villa) .

Words: Lee Pearson I Subbed: Charlie Bradley

Accessibility | Cookies | Terms of use and privacy