The MPs have spoken! Sir Lindsay Hoyle will be next Speaker

Labour MP and deputy speaker Sir Lindsay Hoyle has been chosen as the new Commons Speaker.

Sir Lindsay has to resign from his post in the Labour Party in order to carry out the role that requires him to be impartial.

John Bercow stepped down last Friday after a decade in the speaker chair.

Seven people had originally been considered to take Bercow’s place. Including Foreign Minister and Deputy Labour Leader Harriet Harman and former Labour Minister Meg Hiller.

Words: Michelle Del Rey | Featured Image: Derwiki

Accessibility | Cookies | Terms of use and privacy