Live blog: The Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2016

The 62nd annual Evening Standard Theatre Awards, held at the Old Vic Theatre,will crown the best of the best in theatre.

Reporter: Sarah Louhichi | Sub-Editor: Cecilia Peruzzi

The Evening Standard Awards 2016 I The Bardette

The Evening Standard Awards 2016 I The Bardette



The full list of nominees and winners:

Best actor

Sir Kenneth Branagh The Entertainer, Garrick Theatre

O-T Fagbenle Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, National Theatre, Lyttelton

Ralph Fiennes The Master Builder, Old Vic; Richard III, Almeida Theatre WINNER

James McArdle Platonov, Chichester Festival Theatre/National Theatre, Olivier

Ian McKellen No Man’s Land, Wyndham’s Theatre

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress

Noma Dumezweni Linda, Royal Court, Jerwood Downstairs

Helen McCrory The Deep Blue Sea, National Theatre, Lyttelton

Sophie Melville Iphigenia In Splott, National Theatre, Temporary Theatre (a Sherman Theatre production)

Billie Piper Yerma, Young Vic WINNER

Best musical performance

Glenn Close Sunset Boulevard, Coliseum WINNER

Andy Karl Groundhog Day, Old Vic

Sheridan Smith Funny Girl, Menier Chocolate Factory/Savoy Theatre

Best play with Hiscox, official arts partner of the Evening Standard

Father Comes Home From The Wars (Parts 1, 2 & 3) by Suzan-Lori Parks, Royal Court, Jerwood Downstairs

The Flick by Annie Baker, National Theatre, Dorfman

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne, J K Rowling and John Tiffany, Palace Theatre WINNER

Evening Standard Radio 2 Audience Award for best musical

Funny Girl Menier Chocolate Factory/Savoy Theatre

Groundhog Day Old Vic

Guys And Dolls Savoy Theatre/Phoenix Theatre

Jesus Christ Superstar Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre WINNER

Our Ladies Of Perpetual Succour National Theatre, Dorfman

Sunset Boulevard Coliseum

Milton Shulman Award for best director

Dominic Cooke Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, National Theatre, Lyttelton

John Malkovich Good Canary, Rose Theatre Kingston WINNER

John Tiffany Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Palace Theatre

Best design

Jon Bausor You For Me For You, Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs

Gareth Fry with Pete Malkin (sound design) The Encounter, Complicite/Edinburgh International Festival/Barbican WINNER

Rob Howell The Master Builder/Groundhog Day, Old Vic

Best revival

Les Blancs National Theatre, Olivier

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom National Theatre, Lyttelton

No Man’s Land Wyndham’s Theatre WINNER

Young Chekhov: Platonov, Ivanov and The Seagull Chichester Festival Theatre/National Theatre, Olivier

Charles Wintour Award for most promising playwright

Charlene James – Young Vic/Royal Court Theatre Jon Brittain Rotterdam, Theatre 503/Trafalgar Studios David Ireland Cyprus Avenue, Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs WINNER

Jon Brittain Rotterdam, Theatre 503/Trafalgar Studios

David Ireland Cyprus Avenue, Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs

Emerging talent award in partnership with Burberry

Jaygann Ayeh The Flick, National Theatre, Dorfman

Anthony Boyle Harry Potter And The Cursed Child, Palace Theatre

Aoife Duffin A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing/The Taming Of The Shrew, The Corn Exchange, Dublin and Young Vic/Shakespeare’s Globe Tyrone Huntley; Jesus Christ Superstar, Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre

Tyrone Huntley Jesus Christ Superstar, Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre WINNER

Now Tom Hiddleston, presenting the Lebedev Award, taken home by Sir Kenneth Branagh for his Plays at the Garrick. Branagh has staged six plays at the Garrick Theatre throughout a one year season.

Tom Hiddleston talks about the award winner Kenneth Branagh

Next award for Best New Play in association with Hiscox, presented by Dame Maggie Smith. The winner is Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. It’s currentlly playing at the Palace Theatre and is sold out until December 2017. New tickets until Feburary 2018 will go on sale on 22 November.

John Tiffany accepts the award and says it was made with the “Goddess of Literature” JK Rowling.

Noma Dumezweni reading a thank you note written by JK Rowling, the master mind behind the franchise

Best Actor presented by Christian Louboutin and Kristin Scott Thomas, won by Ralph Fiennes for The Master Builder

Natasha Richardson award for Best Actress is presented by James McAvoy and goes to Billie Piper for Yerma, a play on a woman who is suffering because of her desire to have a child but is unable to conceive. The Spanish play was adapted by director and writer Simon Stone.

The Best Revival Award is presented by Michael Gambon and Eileen Atkins and goes to No Man’s Land.

Milton Shulman award for Best Director presented by Ruth Wilson and Sheridan Smith goes to John Malkovich for Good Canary

Mark Rylance is now presenting the Editor’s Award. It goes to  Good Chance Theatre, which builds temporary theatres of hope and has set up a temporary theatre in the Calais Jungle

Radio 2 Audience Award winner for Best Musical is Jesus Christ Superstar. The award is presented by Dame Joan Collins and Elizabeth Hurley

Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber is collecting the award

Now Ian McKellan has come on stage, dressed as a fairy

Patrick Stewart is currently on stage, giving a speech:

The Best Musical Performance award goes to Glenn Close for Sunset Boulevard

The winner for Emerging Talent Award is Tyrone Huntley for Jesus Christ Superstar

Helen McCrory is presenting the award for Most Promising Playwright

The award for Best Design goes to Gareth Fry with Pete Malkin for sound design of Complicite’s The Encounter

Orlando Bloom is presenting the Best Design Award

The Beyond Theatre Award is up first, Prince William, Duke of Cambridge is presenting the first award of the evening. Prince William says: “I’m pleased to be here as the warm up act”

You can go to Radio2 and listen live 62nd Evening Standard Awards, hosted by Ken Bruce and Elaine Paige

A glimpse of this year’s theatrical highlights.

The ceremony has started with Evening Standard editor Sarah Sands kicking off the evening.

Mark Shanton, a London-based theatre critic has shared a photo of the busy stall area of the Old Vic, where tables were laid out specially for the award ceremony

*Update: According to What’s on Stage the ceremony is starting at 8:45pm

The actors and celebrities are currently enjoying a dinner with the actual awards ceremony starting at 8:30pm.*

Sir Elton John is opening the night with Circle of Life

The Duke of Cambridge has arrived. He will be presenting the Beyond Theatre Award.

Musical theatre legend Andrew Lloyd Webber has arrived. His new show School of Rock has recently had its first performance in the West End

Glenn Close has joined the red carpet. She is nominated for best musical performance in Sunset Boulevard at the Coliseum

Sophie Melville has arrived at the red carpet. She is nominated for best actress for her performance in Iphigenia In Splott, National Theatre, Temporary Theatre (a Sherman Theatre production)

American singer and actress Amber Riley just arrived at the red carpet. She is currently rehearsing for her West End debut in Dreamgirls that is opening at the Savoy Theatre this November.


Accessibility | Cookies | Terms of use and privacy