FINALLY Sainsbury’s has launched a record label

Just what we have all been dying for. But, they probably will not sign your mate’s band.


Supermarket giant Sainsbury’s has announced the launch of their own record label in collaboration with Universal and Warner music, cleverly called Own Label. The name pays homage to their own-brand line in the 70s – and the vintage influence does not stop there. BBC reported that the artwork is going to be inspired by the “minimalist packaging designs” of the Sainsbury’s in-house studio of the 60s and 70s.

Source: Sainsbury's

The first two compilation albums to be released November 3rd. Source: BBC

While they may not be signing an indie band anytime soon, but they may be introducing their younger client base to some classics. The first two albums have been announced as compilation albums curated by musician Bob Stanley. Said to be a combination of familiar songs, and some “deeper cuts.”

Stanley told the BBC: “Those kind of compilations – where some of the songs are familiar, and the rest of the album is a revelation which can shape your tastes – I think are just as important as classic standalone albums like Pet Sounds or Parallel Lines.”

The two albums are set to release this weekend in 168 stores, with more compilation albums to follow in the future.

NME has released the full tracklist for both albums:

Coming Into Los Angeles – A Taste of West Coast

1. The Mamas & The Papas Dedicated To The One I Love
2. Love – Andmoreagain
3. The Monkees – As We Go Along
4. Buffalo Springfield – The Hour Of Not Quite Rain
5. Tim Buckley – Song To The Siren
6. Judee Sill – The Kiss
7. The Byrds – Full Circle
8. Flying Burrito Brothers – Wild Horses
9. Arlo Guthrie – Coming Into Los Angeles
10. Linda Perhacs – Chimacum Rain
11. Fleetwood Mac – You Make Loving Fun
12. America – Ventura Highway
13. Little Feat – Long Distance Love
14. Linda Ronstadt – Desperado
15. Michelle Phillips – The Aching Kind
16. Rickie Lee Jones – Chuck Es In Love
17. Doobie Brothers – What A Fool Believes
18. Nicolette Larson – Lotta Love
19. JD Souther – Faithless Love
20. Gene Clark – Lady Of The North

Hi Fidelity – A Taste of Stereo Sound

Written: Tristan Prawl l Subbing: Asya Gadzheva




Accessibility | Cookies | Terms of use and privacy