Ballon d’Or Awards 2019: Messi bags record 6th award, with Rapinoe, De Ligt and Alisson winning

The Ballon d’Or 2019 ceremony has just concluded at Paris’ Theatre du Chatelet. The 64th Ceremony, hosted by Didier Drogba and Sandy Heribert, handed out the prestigious Ballon D’Or, Ballon d’Or Feminin, Kopa Trophy (best player under 21) as well the new Yachine Trophy (best goalkeeper), awards.

Editor’s Picks:

Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Argentina) picked up a record 6th Ballon d’Or beating out rivals Virgil Van Dijk, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Sadio Mane. The Argentinian won the 2018/2019 La Liga with Barceolna, as well as his 6th European Golden Shoe (most goals).

Ballon d’Or Feminine: Megan Rapinoe

Rapinoe (Reign, USA) triumphed this year, both inside and outside of football. A voice for women and an advocate for various LGBTQ+ organisations, she won the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 with the USA team, where she also picked up the Golden Boot and Golden Ball of the tournament.

Kopa Trophy: Matthijs De Ligt

De Ligt (Juventus, Netherlands)  had a fantastic year winning the Eredivisie, the KNVB Cup and reaching the semi-finals of the UEFA Champions League 2018/2019 with Ajax, as well as being the runner-ups for the 2018/2019 UEFA Nations League with the Netherlands.

Yachine Trophy: Alisson Becker

Becker (Liverpool, Brazil) is the first ever winner of the Yachine Trophy and it is no surprise. UEFA Champions League 18/19 winner with Liverpool and Copa America winner with Brazil, Alisson also picked up the Golden Glove for the Premier League 18/19 season, and the Golden Glove for the Copa America.

As always, Twitter had a lot to say about the awards ceremony so here are just a few of the funniest reactions throughout the event.


Words by: Alex Papagiannis

Featured Image from the 64th Award ceremony

Accessibility | Cookies | Terms of use and privacy